Quoting the Greats

This 31 day challenge was so easy when I wasn’t working this much, and coming home so exhausted. I had a really hard time with picking my favorite quote; not that I don’t have a plethora of well loved quotes, but that I couldn’t figure out which one as my favorite, which one really resonated with me; affected my life.

I enjoy poetry, and quotes, and often want to plaster them all over my walls. Covering every surface with an ever-growing collage of emotion. Always my problem, when forced to pick just one; of anything I get stuck. Thinking about the meanings of it all and what it all feels like. So alas, my favorite quote is such a cliché, but I say it daily:

“Whatever floats your boat.”

The first time I heard it, I loved it. Most likely because I grew up next to the ocean, and loved boats. It just always stuck with me as a neat concept, like, “Do what you gotta do.” Only, a little cuter. A little more fun.

It’s also something I can say I live by. I believe everyone is entitled to their own brand of happiness, provided it doesn’t hurt anyone in the process. Do what makes you happy, what makes you want to live. What’s a boat without water? Just an empty box. Don’t leave your life empty, fill it. Fill it with love, and happiness. Fill it with puppies, or strawberries, yoga, boxing, tattoos. Fill your life with what fuels your soul and that little boat called ‘Life’ will take you anywhere!

One thought on “Quoting the Greats

Leave a Reply

