Baked Brie

DSC_1085
The Finished Golden Cheesy Tastiness!

I hope you love cheesy yummy goodness! As my apology for not keeping up with my 31 day challenge, here is a tasty recipe for Baked Brie. My mum gave me the recipe. She used to make it for almost every family event, because everybody loved it so much! Hope you do to!

Ingredients:

  • 1 Mini brie
  • 1 Container Pillsbury crescent roll dough. (I find the biscuit roll works too)
  • 1 tbsp. (approx.) Butter, melted
  • Honey
  • 1/4 cup chopped Walnuts or Almonds (Optional)
  • Crackers

 

OK, so it’s all pretty easy:

Preheat your oven to 350°f, and butter the bottom of a glass pie dish.

Scrape off the rind of the cheese. My mum says you don’t technically have to, but it’s bitter, and when baked like this it tastes better without it. I just use the side of my knife. (See image below!)

Next pull apart the crescent roll dough, and wrap the brie in it, overlapping. Make sure to smooth down the seams, you don’t want the cheese to break free.

Cover it in butter, make sure every surface of it has butter on it. You can use a pastry brush, but clean washed fingers work just as well. Once it’s all buttered up, place in on the pie dish.

Pour honey on top. I also find agave nectar works great too. At this point, if you wish to add nuts, sprinkle them on top. Walnuts are my favorite to add, sadly I was out of them today. Just make sure they’re chopped, you don’t want full sized nuts.

Bake at 350° for about 30 minutes, or until a nice golden brown. Serve warm. Can be refrigerated and re-heated up later. Just don’t microwave. When I serve it, I drizzle a little extra honey on top, and serve it with crackers. Wheat Thins work great.

Hope you try it and love it as much as I do!

 

DSC_1084
Scraping the Rind

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

