Am I Dreaming, or is This Real?

Thinking about dream jobs, I wonder. Why must it stay a dream? Why aren’t we all going out and doing exactly what we want to do? For some I’m sure it’s skill, or finding the right manager, or being seen. If that’s what you really want though, why strive for anything but? When we’re dying, we don’t have anything but our memories, I don’t know about you, but I want mind to be splendid. I want to look back and be happy, know I’ve done what I wanted. Lived my dreams, and left my nightmares in the dust.

When I was little I wanted to be a veterinarian. Either that or drive an ice cream truck. Once I realized I’d have to put animals down, I gave up that dream. There was no way I could do that and not break down. I know it happens for a reason, and I agree with it when it’s a medical necessity. I just couldn’t do it. I can’t even kill spiders, I feel too bad. Mosquitos are another story though, they suck blood, making them vampires, making them undead, I’m ok swatting them. (I’m totally kidding about the vampire part; mostly)

Now that I’m older I’ve given a lot of thought into my dream job. For a while it was to be an actress. I still love theatre, and plan to continue to act, but I think the idea of going to Hollywood has kind of dwindled. The celebrity status is what I don’t want. I’d love the money from big movies, but I don’t think I want to be that in the spotlight.

No, my dream job now, is art. I want to make art, I’m inspired by Neil Gagman’s “Make Good Art” speech, and that’s all I want to do. I’m still unsure of how to survive off my art, which is holding all of it back. I’d love to make sets for movies, or props. I’d love to make costumes, and cosplay. I’d love to do tattoos. I just don’t know what my next step is, and I don’t know what art form I want to focus in. Yet, I firmly believe I will figure it out, I will make good art.

My featured image is a card I drew, with a quote from Walt Whitman:

“Re-examine all you have been told, dismiss what insults your soul.”

You can find it here on my DeviantArt page

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

