A Bit of Childhood Reading

Every kid has that one book that they will read religiously. Many kids loved “Where the Wild Things Are,” or “Curious George.” Mine was a little lesser known.

When I was really little I hated naps. I would not take them, needless to say it drove my mother nuts seeing as I had two younger brothers tiring her out as well. My nap time was really her nap time. As I was proving to be extremely stubborn, we had to come up with a better solution. It became that I had to stay quietly in my room, but could do whatever I wanted during nap time. I was delighted.

Sometimes I’d play with my doll house, or my little stuffed animals, but one of my favorite things to do was grab a massive stack of books. Now I’m talking like a stack of picture books almost a foot high! If I didn’t flip through them during nap time, I’d get to them before bed. My favorite of this pile; “No Nap.” by Eve Bunting.

Yea, I really hated naps. I’ve come to find this is a really lesser known book, which is sad, because I loved it. It was all about a little girl who didn’t want to take a nap. (Sound familiar?) She has too many other things to do, and drags her dad all through it. Finally at the end; spoiler alert, She falls asleep. I didn’t care about that part, I only liked when she was still awake not napping. I guess I’ve always been a go-getter.

My other honorable mentions of my favorite books when I was a kid are:

  1. “The Monster at the End of This Book,” by John Stone Link
  2. “The Witch Next Door,” by Norman Bridwell Link

 

This is day 17 of my 31 day challenge, check daily for more! Challenge Link

Image Credit

 

 

Leave a Reply

